Springboard Research & Scholarship Awards: Spring 2023

We are delighted to announce award decisions for the Spring 2023 cycle of the Research and Scholarship Program of Tufts Springboard, sponsored by the Office of the ProvostOffice of the Vice Provost for Research (OVPR), and Tufts Medicine. Each of these high-quality, high-impact research, scholarship, and educational initiatives contributes to vibrant research at Tufts by having an explicit plan leading to extramural funding or other outcomes that further influence research, scholarship, and/or policy.

These grants represent a significant investment in the future vitality of Tufts as a thriving R1, very-high research activity university. In keeping with this cycle’s emphasis on supporting Tufts’ efforts to be an anti-racist institution, many of the projects focused on highlighting racial inequities and promoting racial justice.

The next cycle of Research and Scholarship applications will be due on Wednesday, September 13, 2023 at 5:00 p.m. Learn more about the application and review process.

Please join us in congratulating the following individuals and teams who were selected for awards:


Cardiovascular Complications of Immune Checkpoint Inhibitors
Team Lead: Iris Jaffe (Tufts Medicine, TUSM, and GSBS)
Team Members: Pilar Alcaide (TUSM), Cheryl London (Cummings), Lakshmi Pulakat (Tufts Medicine, TUSM, GSBS), and Vicky Yang (Cummings)

Uncertain, Stressed, and Fatigued, but Remembering What I Learned
Team Lead: Holly Taylor (A&S)
Team Members: Eric Miller (SOE) and Ayanna Thomas (A&S)


Making One's Way in Engineering: Studying Becoming and Belonging in Maker-Based Engineering Learning
Team Lead: Brian Gravel (A&S)
Team Members: Ethan Danahy, Greses Pérez, Chris Rogers, and Kristen Wendell (SOE) 

Racial Bias and Judgments of Research Quality
Team Lead: Jessica Remedios (A&S)

Team Member: Jada Copeland (A&S) 


Walking In Their Shoes: Using Simulation to Promote Understanding of The Challenges Faced by Individuals with Disabilities Including Older Adults
Team Lead: Karin Arsenault (TUSDM)
Team Members: Kathryn Dolan, Maria Dolce, Martha Forero, John Morgan, Sarah Pagni, and Donna Young (TUSDM)

Accelerating the Development of Research Collaboration to Address Legal Exclusion and Health Equity in Urban Informal Settlements Globally
Team Leads: Saloni Dev and Ramnath Subbaraman (TUSM)

Transforming the Understanding and Measurement of Youth Civic Engagement
Team Lead: Sara K. Johnson (A&S)
Team Member: Matthew Gee (A&S)

Building the Connected Corpus: Plato's Republic 
Principal Investigator: Christiana Olfert (A&S)

Educating to Stay: Schooling and Livelihood Adaptations for Girls in Karamoja, Uganda
Team Lead: Elizabeth Stites (Friedman)
Team Member: Mesfin Ayele (Friedman) 

Development of a Measure of Youth Sociopolitical Belonging
Team Lead: Sara Suzuki (Tisch)
Team Member: Elizabeth Kopecky (Tisch)