Springboard Awards: Spring 2021

We are delighted to announce award decisions for the third cycle of Springboard, sponsored by the Office of the Provost and the Office of the Vice Provost for Research (OVPR). Each of these high quality, high impact research, scholarship and educational initiatives bodes well for vibrant research at Tufts by having an explicit plan leading to extramural funding or other outcomes that further influence research, scholarship, pedagogical outcomes, and/or policy.

These grants represent a significant investment in the future vitality of Tufts as a thriving R1, very-high research activity university.  In keeping with this cycle’s emphasis on supporting Tufts’ efforts to be an antiracist institution, many of the projects focused on racial inequities and/or the promotion of anti-racist interventions.

Please join us in congratulating the following individuals/teams who were selected for awards:


Systemic Racism as a Driver for Math Anxiety

Team Lead: Ayanna Thomas (A&S)

Team Members: David Hammer (A&S), Keith Maddox (A&S), Eric Miller (SOE), and Sameer Sonkusale (SOE)


Training for Purpose: Co-Developing Skills in Immigrant and Refugee Communities

Team Lead: Katrina Burgess (Fletcher)

Team Member: Sherri Sklarwitz (Tisch)

Connecting the Dots between Organic Chemistry and Social Justice through Mechanistic Reasoning

Team Lead: Ira Caspari (A&S)

Team Member: Rebecca Scheck (A&S)

Heat Resilience Planning in Vulnerable Communities in Metro Boston

Team Lead: John Durant (SOE)

Team Members: Neelakshi Hudda (SOE) and Elena Naumova (Friedman)

Interrogating the Implications of DMD Deletions on the Regulatory Interactome of Osteosarcoma

Team Lead: Heather Gardner (Cummings)

Developing Motor Neuron and Skeletal Muscle Models of Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis Caused by Mutation in the p97 ATPase

Team Lead: Malavika Raman (TUSM)

Home, Homeland, and Belonging in Divided Societies

Team Lead: Nadim Rouhana (Fletcher)


Proof-of-concept Studies of a New Ironmaking Process

Team Lead: Luke Davis (A&S)

Mapping the Social and Environmental Inequities Experienced in Near-Airport Communities

Team Lead: Neelakshi Hudda (SOE)