Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search

University-wide Research Council

The University-wide Research Council is comprised of representatives from Schools, Centers, and key administrative offices.  Its goal is to:

  • open up new lines of communication to ensure broader input
  • improve knowledge-sharing and deepen collaboration across departments, centers, schools and university units that contribute to the research enterprise at Tufts
  • work together to improve research outcomes and conditions

This group plays an advisory role to the Vice Provost for Research, creating a two-way information circuit between the various constituencies.

University-wide Research Council convenes monthly.


Linda Abriola, Director of Tufts Institute of the Environment, University Professor

Sawkat Anwer, Associate Dean for Research, Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Sciences, Cummings School

Joseph Auner, Dean of Academic Affairs, Austin Fletcher Professor of Music, School of Arts and Sciences

Steven Block, Academic Dean, Professor of International Economics, The Fletcher School

Andrew Bohm, Postdoctoral Officer, Associate Professor of Developmental, Molecular and Chemical Biology, School of Medicine

Diana Chigas, Senior International Officer, Associate Provost

Robert Cook, Dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, Professor of Psychology, School of Arts and Sciences

Jimmy Crott, Strategic Initiatives Advisor to the OVPR, Scientist I, Vitamins and Carcinogenesis Lab, HNRCA

Kevin Dunn, Vice Provost

Chris Economos,  Chair of the Division of Nutrition Interventions, Communication, and Behavior Change at the Friedman School of Nutrition Science

Roger Fielding, Associate Center Director, Lead Scientist, Senior Scientist – Nutrition, Exercise Physiology, and Sarcopenia Team, HNRCA

Catherine Freundenreich, Professor of Biology, School of Arts and Sciences

Caroline Genco, Vice Provost for Research, Arthur E. Spiller Professor and Chair of Immunology, School of Medicine

David Hammer, Chair and Professor of Education and Physics, Director of the Institute for Research on Learning and Instruction, School of Arts and Sciences

Linden Hu, Vice Dean for Research, Professor of Molecular Biology and Microbiology, School of Medicine

Peter Levine, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, Lincoln Filene Professor of Citizenship and Public Affairs, Tisch College

Nirupa Matthan, Scientist I, Cardiovascular Nutrition Lab, HNRCA

Dorothy Meaney, Director, Administrative Services, Tisch Library

Fiorenzo Omenetto, Dean of Research, Frank C. Doble Professor of Biomedical Engineering, School of Engineering

Abani Patra, Director, Data Intensive Studies Center (DISC)

Michael Rodman, Vice President for Communications and Marketing

Augusta Rohrbach, Director of Strategic Initiatives, OVPR

Alice Rushforth, Executive Director, Tufts CTSI

Chris Sedore, Vice President for Information Technology & CIO, Technology Services

Diane Souvaine, Professor of Computer Science, School of Engineering

Holly Taylor, Professor of Psychology, School of Arts and Sciences

Samuel Thomas, Dean of Academic Affairs, School of Arts and Sciences

Carroll Ann Trotman, Associate Dean for Faculty Development, Professor and Chair of Orthodontics, School of Dental Medicine

Thomas Vandervelde, Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, School of Engineering