Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search

Committee Governance


The Executive Committee undertakes the university leadership role and responsibility; and decides on and approves recommendations for Tufts research and scholarship priorities coming out of the planning.


  • Tony Monaco (President)
  • Deborah Kochevar (Provost & SVP Ad Interim )
  • Patricia Campbell (Executive VP)
  • Kevin Dunn (Vice Provost)
  • Simin Meydani (Vice Provost for Research)


The Steering Committee works throughout the planning process to provide ideas, insight, and connections to Schools and Centers.


  • Sawkat Anwer (Cummings)
  • Joe Auner (A&S)
  • Sarah Booth (HNRCA); Alternate: Allen Taylor (HNRCA)
  • Ippolita Cantuti-Castelvreti (University Advancement)
  • Diana Chigas (Central)
  • Bob Cook (A&S)
  • Sarah Dykstra (PDA)
  • Zhang Fang (TIE)
  • Caroline Genco (Sackler)
  • Dan Jay (Sackler)
  • David Kahle (TTS)
  • Peter Levine (Tisch)
  • Tom McGurty (Finance)
  • Simin Meydani (OVPR)
  • Elena Naumova (Friedman); Alternate: Ed Saltzman (Friedman)
  • Fio Omenetto (Engineering)
  • Jim Rollins (Fletcher)
  • Ed Saltzman (Friedman)
  • Christine Sanni (University Relations)
  • Lois Stanley (Operations)
  • Dawn Terkla (Institutional Research)
  • Samantha Toohey (iGEM)
  • Carroll Ann Trotman (Dental)


The Project Team designs and manages all phases of the planning effort and reports to the Vice Provost for Research, Simin Nikbin Meydani.


Project Manager: Augusta Rohrbach (OVPR, Director of Strategic Initiatives)

Project Team Members:

  • Kara Charmanski (OVPR, Business Operations)
  • Jimmy Crott (OVPR, Strategic Initiatives)
  • Chris Drew (Planning Consultant)
  • Amy Gantt (OVPR, ORD)
  • Helena Han (OVPR, Business Operations)
  • Kirby Johnson (OVPR, Research Integrity)
  • Thuy Nguyen (OVPR, Strategic Initiatives)
  • Ad-hoc:
    • Larry Steranka (OVPR, OTTIC)
    • Zoya Davis-Hamilton (OVPR, Research Administration and Development)
    • Sarah Marina (OVPR, Research Administration and Development)
    • Scott Perkins (OVPR, DLAM)

The following working groups were formed to address major topics and questions identified in the first round of information gathering.

Priority Area Working Groups

One Health

Learn more about the One Health Working Group.

Comparative Global Humanities

Learn more about the Comparative Global Humanities Working Group.

Climate, Food, Water & Energy

Learn more about the Climate, Food, Water & Energy Working Group.

Equitable Society

Learn more about the Equitable Society Working Group.

Living Technology

Learn more about the Living Technology Working Group.

Cross Cutting Working Groups

Core Facilities

Industry Collaboration

Global Engagement and Impact

Resources, Barriers, & Facilitators of Research