Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search

If you have been awarded a grant or fellowship, please contact Daniel Jay, Postdoctoral Officer, at to share your accomplishments. Use the drop down below to browse postdoctoral awards for 2016 by month.


Amy Yu (Neuro, Jackson lab) accepted a tenure-track Assistant Professor position at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse starting in August 2017.


Yunzhe Lu (DMCB, Chishti lab) received an American Society of Hematology Abstract Achievement Award.

Postdocs received travel awards at Tufts Postdoc Poster Competition. First place winners in the junior and senior categories were Ben Harwood (TMC, Kopin lab) and Selene Lomoio (Neuro, Tesco lab). Second place winners were Lucas Kocia (Physics, Love lab), Cecilia Silva (Micro, Camilli lab), Michele Esposito (TMC, Kapur lab), and Laverne Melon (Neuro, Maguire lab).

Congratulations to all!


Mariah Contreras (Eliot-Pearson Dept of Child Study and Human Development) was awarded a $50,000 grant from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation New Connections for Increasing Diversity initiative.

Erika Pearson (Micro, Moore lab) has accepted a new position of Scientist at RaNA Therapeutics.

Ania Wronski (DMCB, Kuperwasser lab) has accepted a new position of Field Application Scientist in Drug Discovery & Stem Cells at Thermo Fisher Scientific.


Geoffrey Gonzalez-Escobedo (Microbiology, Aldridge Lab) was selected to participate in the Tufts Technology Transfer internship program.

Augustine Lee (Tufts Medical Center) received a $1,500 Research Travel Award to attend the 2016 American College of Rheumatology Annual Meeting in Washington DC.

Selene Lomoio (Neuro, Tesco lab) was awarded a Travel Fellowship to attend the Kloster Seeon Meeting on BACE Proteases in Munich, Switzerland.


Tony Cijsouw (Neuroscience, Biederer lab) was awarded a Yale/NIDA Neuroproteomics Center Pilot Project Grant.

Fair Vassoler (Biomedical Sciences, Byrnes lab) was promoted to Research Assistant Professor in the Biomedical Sciences department at Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine.


Yunzhe Lu (DMCB, Chishti lab) received the Natalie V. Zucker Research Center for Women Scholars Award, Tufts University.

Antonella Pirone (Neuroscience, Jacob lab) was selected to receive the CURE Young Investigator Travel Awards for the Cure Gordon Conference.

Cecilia Silva (Microbiology, Camilli lab) was awarded a fellowship from the Pew Charitable Trusts.


Jonathan Grasman (Biomedical Engineering, Kaplan lab) received an F32 NRSA fellowship.

Huicui Meng (HNRCA, Lichtenstein lab) was awarded the Hamish N. Munro Award for Excellence in Postdoctoral Research.


Jane Kim (Biology, Mirkin lab) accepted a faculty position in Biology at California State University San Marcos, where she will start in August. Jane also chaired the Gordon Research Seminar on DNA Damage, Mutation, & Cancer in Ventura Beach, California in March.

Selene Lomoio (Neuroscience, Tesco lab) was awarded a two-year Alzheimer’s Disease Postdoctoral Fellowship by BrightFocus Foundation.

Gary McDowell (Biology, Levin lab) was awarded a two-year grant to fund his full-time position with The Future of Research, a Massachusetts non-profit. Gary also received a 6-month residency at the Manylabs open science workspace, funded by the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation.

Rebecca Reeves (Psychology, Cook lab) accepted a tenure-track position in the Psychology Department at Armstrong Atlantic State Univesity, where she will start in the fall.

Fair Vassoler (Biomedical Sciences, Byrnes lab) gave an invited talk as a representative of NIDA entitled “Multi- and transgenerational consequences of parental exposure to drugs of abuse” at an NIH funded transgenerational epigenetic inheritance workshop.

Amy Marie Yu (Neuroscience, Jackson lab) was awarded a Research Merit Travel Award for the 2016 Society for Research on Biological Rhythms biennial meeting.


Zach Conrad (Friedman, Mozaffarian lab) received the “Award for Excellence in Research Addressing Cardiovascular Health Equity” by the American Heart Association.

Karen Perez de Arce (Neuroscience, Biederer lab) received a Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Scholarship supported by NIH for Workshop on Leadership in Biosciences.


Maryna Raskin (Child Study & Human Development, Urry Lab) was accepted into the MIT IMPACT Program.