Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search

Use the drop down to browse awards by month.


Sarah Craven Seaton (Levy Lab)
Awarded a NIFA postdoctoral fellowship through the US Department of Agriculture.

Stéphanie Trouche (Reijmers Lab)
Accepted a position as Investigator Scientist in Oxford, UK.


Selena Ahmed (Orians Lab)
Awarded a travel grant by Program 111 in Ethnobiology/Chinese Ministry of Education to present research findings at the 6th National Symposium on Ethnobotany and the 5th Asia-Pacific Forum on Ethnobotany at the Yinchuan Medical University, China in August 2012.

Raveendhara Bannuru (Tufts CTSI)
Awarded a National Research Service Award Health Services Research Fellowship (F32), titled “A network meta-analysis of pharmacological interventions for knee osteoarthritis” from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

Janna Bigalke (Heldwein Lab)
Received a fellowship from the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG).

Shaun Brinsmade (A.L. Sonenshein Lab)
Awarded an NIH Pathway to Independence Award (K99), titled “Integrating Global Responses to Nutrient Limitation in Gram-positive Bacteria” from NIH/NIGMS.

Jason Kuehner (Moore Lab)
Starting a faculty position at Emmanuel College in September.

Jessica McCready (Kuperwasser Lab)
Starting a faculty position at Assumption College in September.

Fathima Nazeer (Moore Lab)
Awarded an American Cancer Society Fellowship to start Sept. 1.


Selena Ahmed (Orians Lab)
Awarded a Tufts Collaborates Seed Grant as a Co-PI for the project titled “Impact of Climate Variability on Tea Quality” along with PI Colin Orians (Biology) and Co-PIs Timothy Griffin (Gerald J. and Dorothy R. Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy), Albert Robbat (Chemistry) and David Small (Civil and Environmental Engineering).

Kelly Burke (Kaplan Lab)
Awarded a National Research Service Award Fellowship (F32), titled “In vitro Type Two Diabetes Mellitus Tissue Model to Investigate Insulin Resistance” from NIH/NIDDK.

Thomas A. Bowman, PhD (Greenberg lab)
Awarded a National Research Service Award Fellowship (F32), titled “Role of Perilipin in Hepatic Steatosis and Metabolism” from NIH/NIDDK.

Oya Cingoz (Coffin Lab)
Awarded the inaugural “Uta von Schwedler Prize” for Retrovirology at the Cold Spring Harbor Retroviruses meeting, May, 2012. Received the Dean’s Award from the Sackler School (as a student), May, 2012.

Caroline Dahlberg
Received a travel grant from the Natalie Zucker grant for Women in Research, and will be using the funds to go to a Gordon Research Conference this summer.

Jane Kim (Mirkin Lab)
Awarded a research grant from the Natalie V. Zucker Research Center for Women Scholars at Tufts University, which will be used towards attending the three-week long Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory summer course “Yeast genetics and genomics.”

Raveendhara Bannuru (Tufts CTSI)

  • Received a travel award from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) to attend the 18th Annual AHRQ National Research Services Award Trainees Research Conference in Orlando, FL, June 2012.
  • Recognized as a superior reviewer by The Journal of General Internal Medicine, the official journal of the Society of General Internal Medicine. Only handful of reviewers from over 1000 people achieved this.
  • Was interviewed by Reuters regarding his work on prostate cancer and the story was published on several websites including
  • Selected to be a Core Expert Panel Member and Evidence Synthesis Group Lead of Osteoarthritis Treatment Guideline Development Group (OAGDG) for Osteoarthritis Research Society International.
  • Selected to be a Core Expert Panel Member of American College of Rheumatology Committee to evaluate appropriateness of the use of musculoskeletal ultrasound in rheumatology practice.

Xingmin Sun (Sun Lab)
Received a Mentored Research Scientist Development Award (K01), titled “Signaling pathway of TNF-alpha production and Clostridium difficile infection (CDI)” from NIH/NIDDK.


Shonna McBride (A. Sonenshein Lab)
Obtained a faculty position: Assistant Professor, Emory University, Department of Microbiology and Immunology.


Selena Ahmed (Orians Lab)
Ranked First Place for Strongest Teacher Rating and Course Evaluation in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences at Northeastern University for Fall 2011 Semester for the “Eating and the Environment” Course.

Vaibhav Pai (Levin Lab)
Research was mentioned in several magazine articles: Science Magazine, Forbes Magazine, ScienceNews Magazine,


Selena Ahmed (Orians Lab)
Research was mentioned in a news story titled “Tapping the Best Minds” in China’s Global Times, January 11, 2012.

Raveendhara Bannuru (Tufts CTSI)
Received a travel award from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) to attend the 17th Annual AHRQ National Research Services Award (NRSA) Trainees Research Conference in Seattle, WA.

Rohini Vishwanathan (Tang Lab)
Was one of the top five finalists in the PepsiCo Nutrition Research Competition (for graduates and post doctoral researchers worldwide to scientifically define ‘a serving of fruit and vegetable’), 2011.